Congratulations to Youth Connexions colleagues recognised as finalists and winners of Children’s Services Awards

26 February 2016

Each year, Hertfordshire County Council holds the Children’s Services Awards to honour those staff members who have shown exceptional dedication. On Thursday 25th February, the winners were announced at a ceremony in the Stevenage Development Centre.

Youth Connexions staff were among the proud winners. The Services to Young People Team of the Year award was scooped by Youth Connexions Three Rivers Youth Work Team, and Youth Connexions Watford Youth Work Team were delighted to be named Early Intervention Team of the Year. Amy Jane Humphries, LDD Personal Adviser (South and West), was awarded overall winner of ‘Support Worker of the Year’.

   Award Certificates  Watford 3 R Award Winners    

Mary Walsh, Team Manager of both winning teams (centre) with Laura Butcher (left) who is Youth Work Team Leader, Watford and Kips Green (right), Youth Work Team Leader, Three Rivers

The awards were presented by County Councillor Richard Roberts, Executive Member for Children’s Services.  Also present were John Wood, Chief Executive, Jenny Coles, Director of Children’s Services and Andrew Simmons, Deputy Director for Children's Services, Education.


Amy-Jane Humphries receiving her award from Richard Roberts

Mary Walsh, Youth Connexions Team Manager (Watford and Three Rivers), said: " I am extremely proud that the hard work of both the Watford and Three Rivers youth work teams has been recognised with these awards.  All of the team members play a vital role of course and the award is for all of them. They are led by very dedicated Youth Work Team Leaders and both teams are truly committed to making a difference to young people in Hertfordshire. "

Other finalists were:

Youth Connexions LDD Team – Finalists in Services to Young People Team of the Year category

Youth Connexions North Herts & Stevenage IAG Team - Finalists in Services to Young People Team of the Year category

Russell Cairns - Finalist in Practitioner of the Year category

Lucy Coddington - Finalist in Partnership Worker of the Year category

Andy Manson - Finalist in Manager of the Year category